What’s on Your Plate???

Admittedly, I had not been on the USDA website before today, so I do not know how helpful it was in the past.  However, I can tell you that I think the new “Choose My Plate” site is fantastic.  If you haven’t checked it out yet, here is the address:

http://www.choosemyplate.gov/

I love the new graphic, I think it will be easy to remember and great for teaching kids.  The website itself has a wealth of information, both simple and complex.  I am consistently amazed by the number of people who have no idea what healthy food looks like and this will be a great resource for them.  Just a few of the new offerings are:

  • A food encyclopedia;
  • Interactive menu planners;
  • Interactive food and activity trackers;
  • Personalized diet and exercise analysis;
  • FAQ about food groups, nutritional values, serving sizes and activity;
  • Specific audience information (kids, pregnant/breastfeeding, adults);
  • Weight loss information; and
  • Links to other helpful websites

Additionally, I am posting a PDF of a few recipes they are suggesting.  I haven’t tried any of them yet, but several look good to me.  Please share your reviews if you try any of them.

Recipes

Posted on June 2, 2011, in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

