Sleep? I’ll Do That Later…

I know that I don’t get enough sleep.  On average, I probably get between five and six hours of sleep during the week.  I don’t have a problem falling asleep or staying asleep; mostly my problem is actually getting into bed.  I work long hours.  I leave my house around 7:30 am and I am never home before 7:00 pm, Monday through Friday.  I prefer to workout in the evening.  I have yoga one night a week, run three nights a week and weight train at least one night a week.  My workouts are generally between and hour and an hour and a half, so by the time that I am home and showered it is usually 9:00 pm.  Call me crazy, but I need some “me” time.  I am a big sports fan, so I want to watch a game or watch a t.v. show or read a book or maybe actually have a life and go out to do something in the evening.  Either way, I am rarely in bed before midnight or 1 am.  I am functioning on this schedule, but I am also fairly certain that my running would be easier and my weight loss may improve if I could find a way to get more sleep.  This week I have started running in the morning before work; to free up my evenings.  My body isn’t particularly excited about it, but change isn’t easy.  My goal for next week is to be in bed by 11 pm.

If you would like to know about some the surprising benefits of sleep, check out this article from health.com:

http://www.health.com/health/gallery/0,,20459221_1,00.html

Posted on June 3, 2011, in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m completely hooked on getting eight hours a night, but I also understand the need for me time. Good luck striking the balance!

  2. Hope for the Hopefuls

    Sleep! Sometimes it feels like a dirty word. I love sleep and find myself wanting it way too much. Naps in the afternoon are my specialty. I think I sleep to get away from it all. But it isn’t doing me any good. I now struggle to fall asleep because I do it to much during the day. I depend on over the counter sleep aids to help me sleep but they really don’t help me sleep any better. I recently purchased a BodyMedia system and I was so amazed to learn that during the night I tend to sleep for about 15 minutes, wake up for about 10, fall asleep for another 30 minutes, wake up for 15 and so one. It is a vicious cycle. Until I purchased the BodyMedia, I couldn’t understand why I always wake up feeling like I have slept at all. Sleep really is important and I know if I could get it under control I would feel better and have better luck losing this weight.

    Smart idea changing things around and running in the morning.

Leave a Reply

