If At First You Don’t Succeed…

So day one of going to bed by 11:00 didn’t happen, but today is a new day and I will be in bed by 11:00 tonight.  In addition to working out in the morning and early bedtime, I have decided to take up some new habits.  Actually, they are old habits that seem to have slipped a little, but I am re-committing:

 

  1. If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all;
  2. Smile at everyone; and
  3. Don’t swear.

I read an article the other day that said if you relax your facial muscles and smile during your workout, it makes the workout easier.  I tested this during my run yesterday and was surprised that it actually did help.  I suspect that it works for things other than workouts, but I’ll let you know how my smiling experiment goes.

The other two are things that I know I should be doing, but have let slide.  It’s easy to get caught up in gossip or bad-mouthing, but I don’t want that negative energy when I am trying to do so many positive things.  And my sailor’s mouth has got to go, I have known it for awhile and I am committed to using better language.  I’m thinking about turning it into a wordplay game for myself, so that it’s more fun than work.

Posted on June 6, 2011, in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Tracey Reams

    Good for you, Emily! Good luck. It all sounds worthwhile. And I’ll have to try that smiling thing.

  2. I really need to stop swearing aswell!! And making myself lunch instead of buying it everyday

    • I usually bring a couple pieces of fruit or some veggies and a Lean Cuisine or Healthy Choice meal for lunch and snacks at work… Healthy Choice has revamped their meals and I really like many of them…

Leave a Reply

