Fighting Mad…

On the Today Show, they were talking about why thin women are getting liposuction.  The doctor who they were interviewing said that it’s not for weight loss, but that what he does is “balance a person’s body.”  That sometimes, even women who are a size two have stubborn fat deposits in places that are unsightly and he helps to correct that.

It is obscene that a medical professional is peddling this nonsense.  The media has us so brainwashed as to what our bodies are supposed to look like that we are willing to have dangerous surgeries in order to fit the mold.  I have had people ask me if I have loose skin or any other visible side-effects as a result of my weight loss.  I think that because my weight loss was gradual and I did it without surgery or pills, my “side-effects” have been less drastic, but yes I have loose skin.  And NO, I am not going to “do something” about it.  I drink lots of water and use lotion, which may help with elasticity over time, but I consider my body to be a testament of the hard work I have done and a roadmap of how I got here.  If I don’t look like a model in my swimming suit, I don’t care.  I worked very hard to get to where I am and I am proud of every part of my body.  I certainly haven’t always felt that way, but I will be damned before I will let some Hollywood doctor try to tell me that I need to have my body “balanced” in a surgery.

I know I said it last week, but I might just start saying it every day…  Love yourself exactly the way you are right now…  It’s the best gift you can ever give yourself…

Posted on June 13, 2011, in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. WTG Em! You tell ’em! 🙂

Leave a Reply

