Happiness Is A Choice, Not A Destination…

 

 

 

This week has been challenging for me and as I move through it, I am reminding myself that happiness is a choice.  I came across a great article on www.health.com:

Find Your Ultimate Happiness

By:  Jacquelyne Froeber

Small changes in your routine can make you feel much more at peace. Try these strategies from Deepak Chopra, MD, author of the book The Ultimate Happiness Prescription: 7 Keys to Joy and Enlightenment.

Tune in to your body
Whenever you feel any pain, fatigue, or anxiety, figure out what’s causing it. In order to be happy, you need to feel good physically, Dr. Chopra says. So if you’re exhausted, say, ask your husband to help so you can take a break.

Be Switzerland
“You can save 99% of your psychological energy—and feel happier—if you can stop defending your point of view,” says Dr. Chopra. instead of always pushing your way of thinking and setting up a tense win-or-lose situation, say, “I see your point of view.” Listening to other sides will improve your relationships and make you feel calmer and sunnier, too.

Give yourself a pep talk
Try this instant confidence builder: Look in the mirror, and say out loud or to yourself, “I am immune to criticism, I am beneath no one, I am fearless.” It may make you giggle, but repeating this mantra helps people stand taller, according to Dr. Chopra.

Embrace the right now We know you’ve heard it before, but enjoying the moment rather than dwelling on future worries is a lasting mood-booster. If you start to drift, say to yourself, “Focus on the present.” That will help snap you back to the good stuff in front of you.

Last night I went for a long walk and saw some great fireworks (which happen to be my absolute favorite thing).   Taking some time to do the things that I enjoy and spending time with people who make me happy are great ways to remind myself that I can choose to be happy no matter what is going on around me.  Sometimes just choosing to smile can make a huge difference 🙂

Posted on June 30, 2011, in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. i’m glad u got 2 happiness… i also enjoyed the 7 keys to joy and enlightenment…i enjoy following ur journey, it is an inspiration:-)

Leave a Reply

