Choosing The Right Workout…

I found this article though another blog I was reading today and I thought it was certainly worth sharing…  I hope it helps you find the “right” workout for today 🙂

Choosing the right workout

by Laura Williams
Choosing the right workout is like choosing a pair of pants: One day, you want to wear skinny jeans, while another day you want to wear bell bottoms or slouchy sweats. You wouldn’t force yourself to wear one pair of pants all year long, so why would you force yourself to do the same workout every day? Whenever you have 30 minutes to exercise, use these tips to choose the right workout for your mood.

When you’re bursting with energy

Maybe you just found out you got a promotion, or your best friend just told you she’s pregnant. You’re over the moon with excitement and bursting with energy, so now’s the time to try something new. Try that strip aerobics class at your gym or that rock climbing wall that’s been staring you down. Whatever it is, your current confidence and excitement will help propel you through your nerves and enable you to undertake a new activity with glee.

When you’re sluggish & tired

When all the coffee breaks and 5-Hour Energy Drinks in the world won’t wake you up, there’s no better exercise than simply taking a walk. The American Council on Exercise notes that regular, moderate-intensity exercise battles fatigue and improves overall energy. The best thing about walking is that you can do it anywhere and anytime; plus, it’s unintimidating enough that you’ll be more willing to give it a shot despite your exhaustion.

When you’re stressed out or angry

Take your 30 minutes of exercise as an opportunity to put all your worries behind you. There are three basic ways to do this:

  • Exercise so hard you can’t concentrate on anything else.
  • Engage with others and do something that makes you laugh.
  • Meditate and focus on deep, relaxing breaths.

The option you choose may depend on the type of stress you’re experiencing. For instance, if you just got in a fight with your spouse, taking a dance class with friends could help you put it behind you. On the other hand, if you’re overloaded with work, an extra-tough group cycling class might send you over the edge. If you can’t pinpoint the source of your stress, meditative yoga may be best.

When you’re perfectly content

Just as you have a favorite pair of jeans, you probably have a go-to workout routine. There’s nothing wrong with relying on a 30-minute treadmill jog or a quick circuit of weights when it’s just your average day.

Posted on February 17, 2012, in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I usually do not comment, however I looked through a few responses on Choosing The Right Workout… My Journey Through Thick and Thin. I do have a few questions for you if it’s okay. Is it only me or do some of these responses appear as if they are written by brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are posting on other online sites, I’d like to keep up with everything new you have to post. Could you make a list of all of your shared pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

    • I do think that they try to use the most simplistic instructions, so that everyone can understand… 🙂

      My twitter ID is emily1178… I don’t really post anywhere else 🙂

  2. Hey I am so glad I found your blog attendant, I in the final analysis found you via error, while I was browsing on Bing with a view something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would right-minded like to suggest cheers in the course of a eccentric postal service and a all round overwhelming blog (I also taste the theme/design), I don’t contain time to read it all at the modern but I contain bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I make be back to pore over a lot more, Cheer do shut in up the superb work.

    Vimax France, Vimax, Vimax Brasil, Best Penis Enlargement

Leave a Reply

